From: **THE LORD GRENFELL**Chairman of the Select Committee on the European Union
House of Lords

From: **JIMMY HOOD MP**Chairman of the European Scrutiny Committee
House of Commons





25 October 2005

## Conference of European Affairs Committees (COSAC) – Contribution addressed to the EU institutions

The Protocol on the role of national parliaments in the European Union attached to the Treaty of Amsterdam provides that the Conference of European Affairs Committees (COSAC) may make any Contribution it deems appropriate for the attention of the EU institutions.

The meeting of COSAC hosted by the United Kingdom Parliament took place on 9-11 October 2005 and agreed a Contribution to be addressed to the EU institutions. As joint Chairs of the meeting, we accordingly take great pleasure in enclosing a copy of the COSAC contribution for the attention of the EU institutions.

You will see that COSAC has agreed a number of specific recommendations, including greater openness in the scrutiny of CFSP and in the Council's legislative function; continuing improvements in the procedure for impact assessments, in the context of a welcome for the better regulation initiative; an agreement that those national parliaments which wish to participate should, under the Amsterdam Treaty, conduct subsidiarity and proportionality checks on EU legislation; and encouraging a wide debate, with special responsibilities for national parliaments and the European Parliament, on the future of Europe.

We hope that the institutions will take note of COSAC's Contribution.

As required by the Protocol on the role of national parliaments in the Amsterdam Treaty, we are addressing the Contribution to the Council of Ministers; the European Commission and the European Parliament.

This letter is copied to Commissioner Wallström and to Mr Philppe Godts in the General Secretariat of the Commission.

## Yours sincerely

## **Lord Grenfell**

Chairman European Union Committee House of Lords

Jimmy Hood MP

Chairman European Scrutiny
Committee
House of Commons

President José Manuel Barroso President of the Commission European Commission B-1049 Brussels Belgium